Category Archives: Time Trial Results

Phoenix Events for September

The Time Trials are all but over for another year, all that remains is the annual tussle with Ross-on-Wye and Royal Dean Forest for the honours in the Vintage Tankard on Sunday 2nd October on our 20mile TT course at 10am.

Wednesday 7th of September sees the return of spin sessions at the Velodrome 7:30pm. A great way to keep those legs turning through the winter and to keep in touch with other club members.

Chain gang will continue in September on a Thursday evening times to confirmed each week on Facebook.
Friday 9th September will see the return of Circuit training at Llanwern high school 6:30pm -7:30pm. The perfect way to work your all round fitness and core strength ready for the next cycling season.



Maybe the hailstones at 3pm had something to do with it, but this week just 6 hardy time-trialists turned out for the 3rd Phoenix 10 of the season.

It was a 100% Phoenix field this week, and some impressive times were posted despite the blustery cold wind.

The results :-

  1. Owen Burgess – 24.34
  2. Phil Sims                 26.17
  3. Allan Hodgson – 26.37
  4. Roy Small –            26.47
  5. Beckie Comins – 28.22
  6. Dave Murphy –    34.25

It looks like being an interesting season in the points table this year, with several riders vying for the honors. A special mention also for Dave Murphy in his first TT this week. Excellent effort Dave.


10Mile Time Trial Results Tuesday  19th April
1 Gareth Rees Cwmcarn Paragon CC 24.07
2 Owen Burgess Newport Phoenix 24.46
3 Amy Hill Team Rytger 24.51
4 Paul Stephens Ross CC 24.54
5 Phil Sims Newport Phoenix 25.20
6 Morgan Jones Cwmcarn Paragon CC 25.23
7 Oliver Rowlands   25.40
8 Allan Hodgson Newport Phoenix 25.56
9 Trish Chalk   26.47
10 Beckie Comins Newport Phoenix 26.52
11 Paul Archer Newport Phoenix 26.58
12 Ryan Pike Cardiff Jif CC 27.20
13 Andrew Storey   27.42
16 Vince Edwards CC Topp (time adjusted) 30.11
14 Ed Hay   28.26
15 Sam Hay   29.25
17 Leighton Coleman   30.35
18 Alyn Jones Newport Phoenix 32.10
19 Linda Spillane   33.37


10Mile Time Trial Results 12/04/16

10Mile Time Trial Results Tuesday 12th April

  1. Amy Hill (Team Rytger)                                     24.36
  2. Phil Sims (Newport Phoenix CC)                25.06
  3. Owen Burgess (Newport Phoenix CC)    25.28
  4. Morgan Jones (Cwmcarn Paragon CC)    26.03
  5. Allan Hodgson  (Newport Phoenix CC)   26.20
  6. Roy Small  (Newport Phoenix CC)              26.30
  7. Paul Archer  (Newport Phoenix CC)         26.38
  8. Olly Anthony  (Newport Phoenix CC)      27. 06
  9. Becky Commins (Newport Phoenix CC) 27.30
  10. Pete Rowlands (Unattached)                         29.11
  11. Vince Edwards ( cc Topp)                                  32.14